Pulp and Paper Canada

News Forestry Workforce
FPAC announces Awards of Excellence recipients during National Forest Week

September 27, 2022  By P&PC Staff

The Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) announced the recipients of its annual Awards of Excellence program during National Forest Week.

The program recognizes outstanding people across Canada who have made exceptional contributions to the forest sector and to forestry communities.

“The FPAC Awards of Excellence program is an opportunity to pay tribute to the remarkable people who help make our sector a world leader in sustainable forest management and who advance the many environmental, social, and economic benefits of Canadian forestry,” said FPAC president and CEO Derek Nighbor. “As we continue our transition to a low-carbon economy, Canada’s forest products sector is proud to honour the dedicated professionals who strengthen the benefits that sustainable forest management, forest products, and family-supporting forestry jobs provide to Canadians from coast-to-coast.”


Recipients of FPAC’s 2022 Awards of Excellence include the following:

FPAC Community Champion Award – Sponsored by TELUS

  • Todd Doherty – MP for Cariboo-Prince George, British Columbia
  • Clara Reinhardt – Mayor, Village of Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia
  • Dale Bumstead – Mayor, City of Dawson Creek, British Columbia
  • Alberta Northwest Species at Risk Committee (NWSAR)

FPAC Partnership Award

  • Indigenous Resource Network (IRN), Robert Merasty – Calgary, Alberta
  • United Steelworkers (USW), Jeff Bromley – Burnaby, British Columbia

FPAC Member of the Year Award

  • Tom Ratz – Resolute Forest Products, Thunder Bay, Ontario

FPAC Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Susan Yurkovich – Council of Forest Industries & BC Lumber Trade Council, Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Mark Tamas – Tolko Industries, Coldstream, British Columbia
  • Joerg Goetsch – Mercer International Inc., Vancouver, British Columbia

FPAC Rising Star Award – Sponsored by MNP

  • Christa Campbell – Resolute Forest Products, Thunder Bay, Ontario

FPAC Women in Forestry Award – Sponsored by Silvacom

  • Wendy Crosina – Weyerhaeuser Canadian Timberlands, Edmonton, Alberta

FPAC-Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB) Indigenous Business Leadership Award

  • Dave Gill – Ntityix Resources LP, West Kelowna, British Columbia

FPAC-Canadian Council of Forest Ministers (CCFM) Skills Awards for Indigenous Youth

  • Neepin Cook – Misipawistik Cree Nation (Grand Rapids, Manitoba)
  • Sarah Dixon – Esketemc First Nation (Alkali Lake, British Columbia)
  • Jordan Germain – Pekuakamiulnuatsh First Nation (Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, Quebec)

Print this page


Stories continue below