Pulp and Paper Canada

News Forestry Pulp Workforce
FPAC announces winners of its 2020 Awards of Excellence

September 21, 2020  By P&PC Staff

The Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) has announced the winners of its annual Awards of Excellence program, which recognizes the women and men across the country who make special contributions to the forestry sector and its surrounding communities.

The announcement is timed with the 100th anniversary of National Forest Week, which runs Sep. 20 to 26.

Winners have been selected across several categories, including forest community champions, industry partners, Indigenous leadership, women in forestry, rising stars, innovation and lifetime achievement.


“The FPAC Awards of Excellence program is an opportunity for us to honour some of the remarkable people who help make our sector a world leader in sustainable forest management and are advancing the environmental, social, and economic benefits of made-in-Canada forestry,” says Derek Nighbor, FPAC president and CEO.

“During COVID-19, we have not only witnessed the resilience of our people and communities, but we have also seen the important health, environmental and economic benefits that forestry and forest products bring to Canada. I can’t think of a better time to acknowledge and celebrate forestry workers and our partners who have been making great things happen from coast to coast.”

Here’s the list of FPAC’s 2020 award winners:

Forest Community Champion Award

The Honourable Lisa Raitt – former MP for Milton, Ontario and Cabinet Minister
William Amos – MP for Pontiac, Quebec and Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of Innovation, Science, and Industry
Walt Cobb – Mayor, Williams Lake, British Columbia
Regional Deputy Grand Council Chief Edward Wawia, Northern Superior Region, Anishinabek Nation

FPAC Partnership Award

Department of Renewable Resources, University of Alberta – Ecosystem Management Emulating Natural Disturbance project (EMEND)
Ducks Unlimited Canada – Forest Management Wetlands Stewardship Initiative, Boreal Conservation Programs

FPAC Outstanding Member Award

Louise Riopel – Millar Western, Edmonton, Alberta
Kevin Larlee – AV Group, Nackawic, New Brunswick
FPAC / Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB) Indigenous Business Leadership Award
Alain Paul – Granules LG Inc., Mashteuiatsh, Quebec

FPAC / Canadian Council of Forest Ministers’ Skills (CCFM) Award for Indigenous Youth

Autumn Quenville – Thunder Bay, Ontario
Raven Cardinal – Edmonton, Alberta
Hunter Corbiere – Waubaushene, Ontario

FPAC Innovation Award

Bonny Wood, Resolute Forest Products, Thunder Bay, Ontario

FPAC Lifetime Achievement Award

Margaret Donnelly – Alberta-Pacific Forest Industries Inc., Boyle, Alberta
Cindy Macdonald – West Fraser, Vancouver, British Columbia
Mark Feldinger – Canfor, Vancouver, British Columbia

FPAC Women in Forestry Award of Excellence

Charlene Strelaeff – Mercer Celgar, Castlegar, British Columbia

FPAC Rising Star Award

Faye Cuadra – Canfor Pulp, Prince George, British Columbia

Seamus O’Regan, Canada’s minister of natural resources, congratulates FPAC’s 2020 winners in the video below.

Print this page


Stories continue below