Pulp and Paper Canada

Industry People (March 01, 2006)

March 1, 2006  By Pulp & Paper Canada

Tembec has appointed two new members to its board of directors. ANDRE BERARD and EMANUELE SAPUTO officially joined the board on January 26….

Tembec has appointed two new members to its board of directors. ANDRE BERARD and EMANUELE SAPUTO officially joined the board on January 26.

MeadWestvaco Corporation has a new member on its board of directors. TIMOTHY H. POWERS joined the board at the end of January 2006.


BARBARA VAN LIEROP has been awarded the John S. Bates Memorial Gold Medal. The honour is bestowed upon a member of the Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada for long-term contributions to the industry.

RICHARD FOUCAULT was awarded an Honorary Life Membership at PAPTAC’s business luncheon, held during PaperWeek. Foucault served as chairman of the association in 2000.

Smurfit-Stone Container Corporation has implemented some management changes. An indefinite medical leave by senior vice president of sales and marketing for the container division LANE HUNTER has prompted the search for a successor. Although an individual has yet to be named, on an interim basis, the position will be filled by a team consisting of JOHN RICONOSCIUTO, COE, JIM NOLAN, vice president of corporate sales, strategic merchandizing solutions and graphics, as well as recently appointed vice presidents of sales, JOHN CRIMMIN, STEVE JEVYAK, BOB NELSON, TOM PIGGOTT and DON ROY.

On March 1, GARY PARAFINCZUK assumed the position of executive vice president, corporate human resources and business excellence at Stora Enso. He also became a member of the management group. He succeeds PER ERICSON, who retired on February 28, 2006.

HARRY SUNDQVIST has been appointed vice president, India representative officer of UPM Kymmene. The responsibilities associated with the role will involve Sundqvist working to establish the company’s representative office in New Dehli, while developing activities in the market.

Mohawk Fine Papers has named CHARLES H. GREINER JR. to its board of directors.

DR. DARREN SLEEP has joined the Canadian operations of NCASI (National Council for Air and Stream Improvement) as senior forest ecologist.

Bowater has elected JOSEPH B. JOHNSON vice president -controller. Johnson first joined the company in 2001, and most recently held the position of director, financial reporting.

Sino-Forest Corporation has appointed W. JUDSON MARTIN to its board of directors. He is also expected to join the company’s audit and compensation committees.

BASF named FRIED-WALTER MUENSTERMANN as executive vice president and chief financial officer.

Stora Enso has reorganized some of its functions. The company’s strategy, mergers and acquisitions, business intelligence, investments and corporate affairs will be merged with finance, accounting, legal and IR. The new staff function, finance and strategy, will be headed by HANNU RYOPPONEN, chief executive officer.

The Latin American division, headed by NILS GRAFTSROM, executive vice president, Latin America, will report to JUKKA HARMALA, chief executive officer.

As of April 1, a new staff function, corporate technology and Asia Pacific, will be formed, and will be responsible for energy services, corporate research and development, the pulp competence centre, Asia Pacific and Russia. It will be headed by MARKKU PENTIKAINEN.

CHRISTER ARGEN has been appointed country manager for Sweden for the newly reorganized corporate services division.

Buckman Laboratories has promoted MICHAEL R. ANTSEY general manger of the company’s European operations. ALEXANDRE MESQUITA has accepted the position of director of global technologies, and JIM FITZHENRY will assume the role of vice president of research and development.

Weyerhaeuser has named PATRICIA M. BEDIENT senior vice president of finance and strategic planning.

Print this page


Stories continue below