Pulp and Paper Canada

News (October 01, 2001)

October 1, 2001  By Pulp & Paper Canada

Pierre Rougeau has been appointed senior vice-president, corporate development and chief financial officer of Abitibi Consolidated.Cascades Inc. has apppointed Marc Jasmin director, investor relations…

Pierre Rougeau has been appointed senior vice-president, corporate development and chief financial officer of Abitibi Consolidated.

Cascades Inc. has apppointed Marc Jasmin director, investor relations.


Gordon Leary has retired as manager of the Pulp and Paper Business Unit at the Alberta Research Council. Ross Chow is acting business unit manager.

Stora Enso announced changes in management. Pekka Laaksonen, senior executive vice-president, Packaging Boards, will also become responsible for Stora Enso’s operations in Finland. Magnus Diesen has been appointed executive vice-president, strategy and business development. Nils Grafstrm will become executive vice-president, market service & IT, responsible for corporate marketing and sales.

Jussi Huttunen, managing director of Stora Enso’s UK sales office, will become senior executive vice-president, fine paper, and become a member of the executive management group, based in London. In addition, Arno Pelkonen, executive vice-president, timber products, was appointed as a member of the executive management group.

Raymond Marcoux has been named vice-president and regional manager of AMEC Simons Forest Industry’s Eastern Region, based in Montreal.

Concert Industries announced the appointment of Philip Falls as vice-president of corporate affairs.

Kathleen (Kitty) Kono has been appointed ASTM vice-president, global co-operation.

Smurfit-Stone Container Corp. has named Patricia O’Carroll as director, customer service, in the Boards Sales Division.

CAE announced the appointment of Jim Best as president of CAE Forestry Systems, Wood Products Division.

Bill English has been appointed Bielomatik’s vice-president of sales, paper division.

Mark Givis has been named vice president-sales of the Ohio-based J.E. Doyle Company.

Hans Peetz-Larsen, CEO of Heidelberg Americas, has been named as the recipient of the Walter E. Soderstrom Award. Named for the late Walter E. Soderstrom, one of the founders of the National Association for Printing Leadership, the annual award has been given since 1961 to a distinguished individual who has contributed significantly to the development and progress of the printing industry.

The Business Roundtable announced that John T. Dillon, chairman and chief executive officer of International Paper, has been elected its new chairman.

H.C. Bowen Smith, senior advisor of UBS Warburg, has joined Forest2Market’s (F2M) board of directors.

Indigo’s Andy Middleton has been appointed to the position of general manager, worldwide distributor channels.

The NEMO Pump Division of Netzsch Inc. named David Andrews to the position of West Coast regional sales manager.

Print this page


Stories continue below