Pulp and Paper Canada

Features Research & Innovation
People (May 01, 2003)

Richard J. Taggart has been elected executive VP and chief financial officer by Weyerhaeuser Company's board of directors.STFI's Dr. Anita Teleman is one of the recipients of the 2003 Marcus Wallenber...

May 1, 2003  By Pulp & Paper Canada

Per Eiritz

Richard J. Taggart has been elected executive VP and chief financial officer by Weyerhaeuser Company’s board of directors.

STFI’s Dr. Anita Teleman is one of the recipients of the 2003 Marcus Wallenberg Prize, for the discovery of hexenuronic acid residues in kraft pulps and development of a method for removing hexenuronic acids before pulp bleaching. Other awardees are Dr. Johanna Buchert, Maija Tenkanen and Tapani Vuorinen.

Peter Kickinger has been appointed executive VP and head of Stora Enso Timber. He will succeed Arno Pelkonen, who was appointed head of Stora Enso’s new forest products area.


Michel Desbiens resigned as Quebecor World Inc. president and CEO for personal reasons. Jean Neveu will replace him on an interim basis, effective immediately. David S. Boles has been appointed chief operating officer, Quebecor World North America.

Metso Paper appointed Per Eiritz as president of its Tissue Business Line.

SKF has named Donald A. Poland as president of the SKF Service Division, North America.

The board of directors of Bowater Incorporated appointed Gordon D. Giffin to the company’s board. Giffin is co-chair of the Public Policy and Regulatory Affairs practice for McKenna Long & Aldridge LLP with offices in Washington, DC and Atlanta, GA.

Buckeye Technologies Inc. announced that Robert E. Cannon, chairman and CEO, will retire in June, 2003. Cannon led the leveraged buy-out of Procter & Gamble’s pulp business, which resulted in the formation of Buckeye and has served as the chairman and CEO since it was established in 1993.

Fred Hagino has been promoted to president of NTN Bearing Corporation of Canada. He replaces Rick Thomas, who has been promoted to the position of President and COO of NTN Bearing Corporation of America. Thomas will be staying on as a director of NTN Bearing Corporation of Canada.

General Joseph W. Ralston, USAF, retired, was elected to the board of directors of Timken Company for a three-year term, expiring at the 2006 annual meeting.

Let everyone know about the changes at your company. Contact info@pulpandpapercanada.com


The pulp and paper industry mourns the loss of one of its leaders, Dr. Barry Crouse, Dean of the Graduate School, Institute of Paper Science and Technology, who passed away on March 16, 2003. His leadership in the industry and the IPST’s faculty, alumni, staff, and students will be sorely missed.

Dr. Crouse had been part of the management team of IPST for the past 14 years. He was scheduled to become the assistant director of the new IPST at Georgia Tech. He had been a TAPPI member for over 30 years, a TAPPI Fellow, past director of TAPPI, and past director of ESPRA. He had over 22 years of industrial experience and was Unit Director of Paper Technology Department with Eastman Kodak.

Print this page


Stories continue below