Pulp and Paper Canada

Features Financial Reports & Markets
People (April 01, 2005)

April 1, 2005  By Pulp & Paper Canada

Weyerhaeuser has named THOMAS F. GIDEON senior vice president of Timberlands, replacing Jack P. Taylor. The position became effective on March 14th, 2005….

Weyerhaeuser has named THOMAS F. GIDEON senior vice president of Timberlands, replacing Jack P. Taylor. The position became effective on March 14th, 2005.

PAULA H.J. CHOLMONDELEY has been appointed to Albany International’s board of directors. Most recently, Cholmondeley served as vice president and general manager of Sappi Fine Papers, North America, where she was responsible for the specialty products division.


Weyerhaeuser has also named SHAKER CHANDRASEKARAN vice president of cellulose fibres manufacturing. He will replace JAMES E. WATSON, who is to retire in August.

J. ERIC ASHBY, currently operations manager at the company’s Dryden, ON mill, succeeds Chandrasekaran as vice president, mill manager at Kamloops, BC.

HANNU MELARTI has been appointed president of Kemira’s Pulp & Paper Chemicals business in North America. He assumed the role on March 1st. He will be based in Kennesaw, GA.

Georgia-Pacific has named WILLIAM NAHILL chief procurement officer. He will be responsible for strategic sourcing across the company’s businesses and staff functions.

DON MAY received the John S. Bates Memorial Gold Medal, PAPTAC’s most prestigious award, in recognition of his long-term contributions to the understanding of mechanical pulping during his distinguished career in the industry.

LAURIE FREDERICK, JOEY KISH and DOUG SINGBEIL, along with their co-authors from other companies, won the I.H. Weldon Award for best overall paper. The winning submission, entitled, “Causes and Solutions for Recovery Boiler Primary Air Port Composite Tube Cracking,” was presented at the 2004 International Chemical Recovery Conference.

JEAN HAMEL received the F.G. Robinson Committee Service Award for his imaginative and productive leadership of PAPTAC’s Paper Machine Technology Committee.

THOMAS HU, and his co-authors from the University of British Columbia, won the Journal of Pulp and Paper Science Best Paper Award for their paper entitled, “Bleaching and Brightness Stabilizing Agents. Part 1: Bleaching of Mechanical Pulps.”

NORM LIEBERGOTT was awarded Honorary Life Membership in PAPTAC in recognition of his outstanding service to the industry in the area of chemical and mechanical pulp bleaching.

IAN PYE received a certificate in recognition of his 50 years of service as a member of PAPTAC.

RICHARD DROUIN, chairman of Abitibi Consolidated’s board of directors, was appointed by Prime Minister Paul Partin as a member of the National Round Table on the Environment and the Economy (NRTEE).

COLIN NICHOLAS has been appointed the first Carter Holt Harvey Fellow in Wood Structures. The appointment is the first company-sponsored teaching position, and will be at the University of Auckland.

Print this page


Stories continue below