Pulp and Paper Canada

News Forestry Workforce
FPAC names winners of its 2023 Awards of Excellence

September 18, 2023  By P&PC Staff

Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) has announced the winners of its annual Awards of Excellence program. The 2023 program is sponsored by Silvacom and Abacus Data, and recognizes outstanding individuals, organizations, and partnerships that exemplify innovation, sustainability, and leadership in sustainable Canadian forestry.

“The FPAC Awards of Excellence program is our way of paying tribute to the exceptional people who are making a difference in forestry communities across Canada,” said Derek Nighbor, FPAC president and CEO.

“Given how devastating this year’s wildfire season has been for so many Canadians, including thousands of our forestry workers and their families, this year’s program is extra special. It is an opportunity to not only recognize these dedicated people and organizations, but also to remind Canadians of the important role that active forest management plays in reducing carbon emissions, keeping communities safer from fire, and creating and sustaining hundreds of thousands of family-supporting jobs in hundreds of Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities across the country,” he added.


FPAC’s 2023 Awards of Excellence recipients include:

Jim Carr Forest Community Champion Award:

Nova Scotia Senator Colin Deacon and Shuniah, Ontario Mayor Wendy Landry

Partnership Award:

Canadian Wood Council (CWC)

Member of the Year Award:

Bonny Skene, regional public affairs manager at Domtar Inc.

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Bob Fleet, vice-president of environment and forestry (Retired) at Tolko Industries Ltd.

Women in Forestry Award:

Kari Stuart-Smith, manager of biodiversity and wildlife at Canfor Corporation

Rising Star Award:

Alexis Bolduc-Gagnon, superintendent of health and safety at Resolute Forest Products

Skills Awards for Indigenous Youth:

Makué Vollant, member of the Atikamekw de Manawan at Forestry Technology student at Cégep de Sainte-Foy

‍Catherine Langille, member of Seine River First Nation, Indigenous Environmental Science and Studies student at Trent University

Indigenous Business Leadership Award:

Listuguj Mi’gmaq Government Chipping (LMG Chipping)

Print this page


Stories continue below