Pulp and Paper Canada

Features Environment & Sustainability
PAPTAC Honours Its Members

March 1, 2008  By Pulp & Paper Canada

Honorary Life Membership

Honorary Life Membership

In recognition of his outstanding contributions to the industry, an Honorary Life Membership was bestowed on


J. Peter Tyne, Campbell River, BC. Born and raised in Sudbury, Ontario, Peter completed his science studies at the University of Guelph, where he received an Honours B. Sc. in Industrial Microbiology in 1974. That same year he accepted a full-time position in MacMillan Bloedel as the environmental process engineer in Port Alberni, where he held a variety of technical and operating positions in kraft pulping and papermaking areas. In 1983 Peter moved to Crown Forest Industries in Campbell River, BC where he was involved in new technology application, new product development, and customer service at both the mill and corporate level.

Peter retired from Catalyst Paper in December 2007, after having worked with five of the Catalyst Paper predecessor companies. Meanwhile, he began and deepened his association with the Technical Section, CPPA. He became a member of the Water Removal Committee, which he chaired under the new name of Paper Machine Technology Committee in 1989-1990, for which he received the 1990 F. G. Robinson award.

Peter joined the PACWEST Conference Committee, was Chairman at Whistler in 1997 and then served as an executive councillor (1999-2001) of the newly formed Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada. He became chairman of PAPTAC in 2003 and served until 2004.

John S. Bates Memorial Gold Medal

James H. Rogers received the John S. Bates Memorial Gold Medal, awarded to a member of the Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada for long-term contributions to the industry, at the PAPTAC Awards Ceremony on February 7.

The Gold Medal is named after Dr. John S. Bates, founder of the Technical Section, CPPA (now PAPTAC) in 1915, and its Permanent Honorary Chairman from 1974 until his death in 1991.

Born in 1939 in Ramea, Newfoundland, Jim received a BSc. from St. Francis Xavier University in 1960, graduated in chemical engineering from Nova Scotia Technical College in 1962 and was awarded an Athlone Fellowship and a Masters Degree from the University of Birmingham, England, in 1964. In 1999 Jim was awarded the Doctor of Engineering (honoris causa) degree by Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Early in his career, Jim became involved in emerging area of computer application for process. In 1971 he joined Paprican to help initiate a research program in systems engineering and process control, concentrating on modelling, simulation and control of kraft mills and the control of chip refiners. In 1984 he became director of engineering and development and in 1985 became responsible for the new Paprican research laboratory in Vancouver where Jim helped develop the research focus, emphasizing fibre-resource characterization, pulp processing, market pulp properties and the engineering aspects of kraft pulping and environmental research.

In 1987 Jim was named vice president by Paprican and senior vice-president in 1990. Working closely with advisory industry to develop an integrated priority resource allocation system, he organized a major program of research on sustainable development in conjunction with the industry, universities, government and alliance partners. He was also instrumental in the creation of research chairs with partners University of British Columbia, Ecole Polytechnique and McGill University.

Jim has been a member of PAPTAC since 1971. He was a member of the CPPA Executive Board Task Force on Global Climate Change, served on the Associate Committee on Automatic Control, National Research Council of Canada and participated in organization and made presentations at various PAPTAC/ TAPPI/ ISA/ IFAC conferences, seminars and lectures.

Following his retirement from Paprican in 2001, Jim has participated in a number of industry-related activities including a study of the future research needs of the forest products industry. He was a member of the Board of Directors of Advanced Fiber Technologies Income Fund 2002-05.

Print this page


Stories continue below